Winners of 2012 Climate & Energy Action Awards Announced! Congratulations to Municipalities Surrey, Nakusp, and North Vancouver

On September 26, the Honourable Terry Lake, Minister of Environment presented awards recognizing climate & energy action taken by Surrey, Nakusp and City of North Vancouver at the 2012 Union of B.C Municipalities convention.

The City of Surrey won in the Community Planning and Development category for the planning and development of Surrey City Centre. Over the past ten years, City Centre has transformed into a high-density, transit-oriented community - changes that have been driven by vision, commitment and investment.

The Village of Nakusp won in the Corporate Operations category. The Village has implemented renewable energy retrofit projects, reduced GHG emissions and reduced energy costs. Capturing latent heat from hot springs water, installing 6,500 W of solar power, and a micro hydro project are just a few of the projects completed.

The City of North Vancouver won the Public Sector Collaboration category for the Lonsdale Energy Corporation and School District 44 Education Service Centre/Arts for Kids project, which showcases a geothermal heat pump system and recycling of surplus heat.

Honourable Mentions were awarded to:

  • City of North Vancouver for its energy efficient buildings density bonusing initiative.
  •  Regional District of Nanaimo for a regional memorandum of understanding for corporate emission reduction projects.
  • City of Rossland for the Rossland Energy Diet.

The awards are organized annually by the Community Energy Association in partnership with the Province of British Columbia, Union of B.C. Municipalities, B.C. Hydro and FortisBC.

Click here for more information about this year's award recipients and all 2012 applications.